Hay Creek Township 2023 Annual Meeting Draft Minutes – March 21, 2023

CALL TO ORDER: The treasurer called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM at the Holy Cross Lutheran Church, located in Bismarck, ND. A total of 32 members were present. Board members Jason Gullicks, Lisa Schatz, Mary Rennich, and Larry Haisley attended. County Assessor, Scott Peterson and clerk Dave Pearce were not in attendance.

ELECTION OF MEETING MODERATOR: Jason Gullicks was unanimously elected by voice acclamation.

MODERATOR REVIEWS MEETING AGENDA: Gullicks reviewed the meeting agenda.

ELECTION OF JUDGES: Gullicks explained the duties of a judge. Michael Jurgens, Lisa Burch, and Troy Kuball were the three volunteers. All three judges were accepted by voice acclamation and oaths were signed.

APPROVAL OF 2022 ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES: Motion to approve the March 15, 2022 minutes as presented. Motion carried.

REPORTS: Gullicks reviewed the 2024 Annual Township Budget. The budget review included the 2022 actual receipts and expenditures, 2023 and 2024 estimated receipts and expenditures, and the 2024 Road Maintenance Agreement. Discussion concerning the longevity of chip seal due to the large amount of snow and snow removal in 2023. The Clausen gravel pit will be utilized for graveling roads in 2023. A review of the proposed 2024 levy was estimated at 11.00 mills. Gullicks proposed increasing the mill levy from 10 to 11.0 mills.

NEW BUSINESS: Discussion regarding the cash on hand, estimated revenue and expenses, and the rising costs of materials were of concern amongst attendees. Suggestions were made to increase the proposed mill levy to accommodate rising cost while maintaining money in reserves. Opposition was expressed to increasing more than the proposed 11.0 mill levy.

PROPOSED 2024 MILL LEVY:

Motion to increase the proposed mill levy to 11.5 and reviewed annually and deleted if not needed after 2024 meeting. Motion carried.

Motion to keep the proposed 11.0 mill levy. Motion carried.

NOMINATIONS FOR TOWNSHIP POSITIONS:

Three-year term supervisor nominations were Mary Rennich and Keenan Lundy. Fulfill the two-year remaining term supervisor nominations were Jim Martel, Kathleen Jones, and Lisa Birch Township Treasurer nomination was Brandy Jurgens

Township Clerk nominations were Lorrayne Martel and Claudia Kuball

Hay Creek Township 2023 Annual Meeting Draft Minutes – March 21, 2023 Page 2

Nominees introduced themselves. Moderator announced the mill levy ballot options as 11.5 and 11.0. Ballots were distributed and tallied by the judges and treasurer.

Elected to Supervisor three-year term – Mary Rennich Elected to two-year remaining term – Jim Martel Elected Treasurer - Brandy Jurgens Elected Clerk – Claudia Kuball Elected 2024 Mill Levy - 11.00

FOR THE GOOD OF THE ORDER: Moderator discussed the paving schedule, asked township residents to refrain from pushing snow into the right-of-way, and take pride in the Township by not littering. Discussion relating to the intersection at 43_{rd} and Hay Creek Drive - the county will address the area this summer.

Meeting adjourned at 7:30 PM.